Just found out that one of my favorite game devs is a Joel fan.

Just found out that one of my favorite game devs is a Joel fan.

(Yes, this is really a reference to Joel's burning super death sword cursor, I asked them.)

u/Think_Ad_175 — 4 days ago

Clearing up some misconceptions... (hopefully!) WR SPOILERS

THIS POST CONTAINS WEIRD ROUTE SPOILERS. READ AT YOUR OWN RISK.

I've seen lots of discussion online about how the Weird Route messes up your saves, just like how Undertale does Soulless Pacifist. This post was made to clear up some misconceptions that have been spreading online. (Once the karma requirements on r/deltarune lower I might post this there too)

To start, the main reason for this rumor is how the dr.ini file in the appdata folder updates "side_b" as "complete" after seeing the Chapter 5 Weird Route ending for the first time. While it is totally possible that this could be used like completing Undertale's genocide route, I find it more likely that this is in place to allow you to play Side B of Chapter 7 when launching it (or at the very least, accept chapter 5 WR completion files). Having the option for Side B on the main menu or save select wouldn't make any sense unless the game knew you already fulfilled the requirements to unlock it, AND knew it even existed.

Also, I've seen lots of discussion over what "Side B" actually is, so I figure I should quickly address that. Side B has been one of many labels for the Weird Route in Deltarune's files since Chapter 2. I personally believe Side A is the main route (Pacifist, Neutral), and Side B is the Weird Route (possibly Twisted Route too if that actually happens). The issue is that nobody knows if abandoning the weird route in Chapter 5 actually puts you back on to Side A (or creates a Side C!). To start, there's no weird route abort jingle, and there are a few differences in the chapter itself. Until Chapter 6 (or 7) comes out, we won't get an answer.

Finally, I'd like to emphasize how your actual save files aren't actually affected (as of yet). The only thing that gets added is the side b completion saves for Chapter 5, something every chapter does once you've reached the ending. Of course, those completion saves are completely separate from your main ones, and will probably only be usable in Chapter 7.

Hopefully this post cleared at least some of the stuff floating around out there, in the great wilds of the Internet.

u/Think_Ad_175 — 2 months ago