Tupperware made from wheat??
▲ 43 r/Celiac

Tupperware made from wheat??

so I came across this tupperware at homegoods and have been seeing some similar items online that are made from “wheat fiber” or “wheat straw” i’m not a scientist so idk how these things work in terms of containing gluten or not… does anyone know for sure about this?

i did not purchase this because i was unsure, but if this IS something celiacs should be aware of, then take this as a PSA!

u/Peep743 — 8 days ago

Need Recommendations!

i haven’t been since summer 2021 and didn’t go to the water park, and i used to go all the time as a kid (roughly 2009-2016), but me, my boyfriend, and our mutual friend all got silver season passes (we’re all college students so splurging for higher tier passes isn’t an option lol)

some info about us: two of us are 21 and one of us is 19 turning 20 in July. i have celiac disease so i have to eat strictly gluten free, but they don’t have to. we all want to enjoy the water park as well, though i’m a little weary of super fast water slides because i have a lot of face piercings and the impact from the water can hurt pretty bad, but i’m sure they’d enjoy them.

anyways, i’m looking for recommendations on the best rides, what’s changed since last time i went, info on new stuff in the water park, best gluten free food in the park (if anyone has experience with this), anything we should bring, things that are worth splurging on, etc!

TIA!

reddit.com
u/Peep743 — 4 months ago
▲ 7 r/Celiac

So I just finished the semester in college, it’s been a rough and exhausting one, so I decided to treat myself tonight. I went to my local Cookout because they’ve always been great at cleaning the milkshake machine whenever I ask and are always so caring when I explain I’m celiac, even when I just order a milkshake, not only do they clean the machine and change utensils, everyone also changes gloves even if they’re not touching my milkshake, and I’ve never had a reaction. Tonight, I went with a friend and they got a peanut butter chocolate milkshake (which SHOULD be gf) and I got a chocolate one, also gf. We received the milkshakes and they said which one was which. I took the one that was mine and put a straw in it and started drinking it. CRUNCH. uh oh… I took the lid off and realized it was a chocolate OREO shake.. I checked the other shake and that one was actually what I had ordered. I just glutened myself. I feel so stupid for not checking before I consumed it, just incase there was an error. Now I’m currently trying to enjoy my last 15 mins before I feel like garbage for 2-4 weeks. I hate this..

Currently crying while drinking my shake I ordered and trying to find any ounce of joy I have left after completing a really hard semester and this situation occurring :/

Any kind words and words of hope would be nice to hear :/

reddit.com
u/Peep743 — 5 months ago
▲ 27 r/Celiac+1 crossposts

I know, I know, everyone is probably sick of hearing about the gluten free Cheez-Its, but I need to celebrate this moment😭 It felt unreal eating them, I checked the box like at least 12 times to make sure I really did get the gluten free ones. They’re so good and the feeling it gave me being able to eat them again, was worth the hype. My local Harris Teeter had a BOGO sale so I got 2 boxes, not trying to be greedy and one of those people who buys tons of them just to resell for absurd prices😭

10000/10, would recommend, and I’m so grateful I finally found them😌

u/Peep743 — 5 months ago