Am I the only one who sees this major flaw with iCloud?
I've used it for years without any issue, until it was time my storage began running low. When I started getting a notification about it, I'll admit, it was my fault for not upgrading to a higher storage capacity beforehand.
Like a lot of people, I used to assume that it was backing up my photos when it said "syncing," so I thought every picture I had was stored on my phone before being automatically copied to iCloud. I know there's an option to configure it like that after learning the hard way, because once I finally ran out of space, more than half of my camera roll was deleted.
When I tried talking about this on support forums for Apple, a number of people just pointed the finger at me for not paying to expand my storage space beforehand, and for misunderstanding how iCloud is syncing my data vs backing it up. Again, yes, I agree with the first part that I should've expanded my storage once I got the warning (Apple should still do a better job on clarifying syncing vs backing up), but what's absolutely ridiculous is that iCloud would just go ahead and delete half of my pictures after running out of space.
When you run out of storage on any sort of drive, whether it's on a server like Google Drive, Dropbox, or an actual physical HDD or flash storage device in front of you, the software running it won't just automatically delete your data to save space; you just won't be able to write any more files to it until you manually clear up some space. Maybe you'd have to program your OS or cloud service to automatically erase files on your behalf, but I've never heard of something like this happening to someone once they ran out of storage.
iCloud is the only platform where something like this has happened, and when I tried explaining it online for support, the problem just got pointed back at me for not "expanding my storage ahead of time." I'm sorry, but how the hell do you not see the bigger problem with this? Or am I the one who's not understanding something here? At least someone on their customer support line said that it could've been a glitch (finally someone admitting a potential fault on Apple's part), but if automatically deleting files is the default for iCloud, this isn't a safe software to be using.